Be You · love · magick · My Life · My Path · Myth · Old Ways · Personal Practice · Practical Magick · Relationship · The Gods

Following Old World Models

I consider myself a practitioner of the old ways. What does that mean? It means I look to the way our ancestors interacted with the world around them and try to mimic that in my own life.

I am always adapting my life in new ways as I learn more and more about how my ancestors lived.

Living according to the ‘old ways’ will look different to each person and there is no right or wrong way to do it.

IMG_20170727_195516.jpg

Now just because I encourage others to live in a way that honors our ancestors and the world around them, it doesn’t mean I’m telling people to forsake modern amenities or technology. Even the norse gods are described as having and using tools (the most basic form of technology) in stanza 7 of the Voluspa.

Clearly, I like the internet and computers as much as the next person.

I kind of think of modern society as an extension of fire.

There are a great many myths about the discovery of fire and it is usually as a gift from the gods. Technology is kind of the same thing. Through divine inspiration or just from the gods’ blessing of an intelligent mind, we have made considerable advancements in technology.

I’ve always felt that we could not have been given the ability to create such advancements if we weren’t supposed to make use of them.

IMG_20170727_195444.jpg

However there is an important thing to note; we have taken our advancements and allowed them to pull us away from the respectful and honorable lifestyle with nature and the spirit realms.

There are still cultures present today that honor the natural and unseen worlds, though they are few and far between. Sadly, American culture has grown selfish and greedy and actively seeks to take from nature until it is nothing but a dried up husk.

All I’m suggesting is that we work together to create a life where we live in balance with nature and the spirit realms. Just look at Iceland! They have been allowing the land weights to dictate the building of roads and other structures.

That’s pretty freaking fantastic.

In the coming weeks I will be blogging about different things we can implement – if they work for your lifestyle – to create this magickal balance in our own lives as witches. And let’s face it, we want to be on good terms with the spirits.

As witches the spirits are our greatest allies. You don’t want to piss off your friends.

Leave a Reply

