Chronic Illness · Chronic Pain · EDS · Health · Lupus · My Life · My Path · PCOS

Chronic Illness & the Witch

So I have been dealing with chronic health issues for the last four years. I briefly touch on this in the last chapter of my blog about my path. I have had my ups and downs, my relationships have been tested as has my faith.

Two weeks ago I finally received a diagnosis for my ailments.

I have Lupus and hypermobility Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, along with several others, but those are the two biggies.

The key thing to know is that all of these conditions I have are chronic and have no cure. They can be managed and can go into remission, but I will always have them as a part of me.

When I first received this diagnosis, I questioned everything again. What had I done wrong to deserve this? Why had I manifested these life altering and potentially life threatening diseases into my life? Why was I being subjected to such trials?

I have agonized over these same questions once before in my life – when I was broke at 19 years old and terrified of losing everything. My life changed for the better after that experience and I learned so much about myself and how strong I was, but most importantly I learned the Gods will never abandon me.

My friends and I refer to ourselves as the Marauders, and I am the Remus of our little group. When I was diagnosed, I thought it was funny that – of course – I was most similar to the chronically ill Marauder. Then I remembered the best part about Remus – even though he is in pain and suffering and has to hide that big piece of himself, he does what he can to be a part of the world, to influence it for good.

So I asked myself, what would Remus say about our being victims of unfair circumstances?

We are all victims of something.

Isn’t that true? We are all made victims by unfair circumstances, what is more important is that we do not allow those circumstances to be the only things that matter.

Chronic illness and pain is just another type of trial, one I will struggle with the rest of my life. Rather than allow it to keep me a victim, I have accepted my ills and pains and chosen to use them to help others. Hence the changes to the blog.

There are currently no resources for chronic illness and pain from a pagan perspective, though as usual there are plenty of Christian perspectives. I hope that what I write about here will prove to be of benefit not only to the chronically ill witch, but to the chronically ill person.

If you have any questions or topic suggestions surrounding chronic illness, chronic pain, lupus, EDS, PCOS, POTS, Raynaud’s Syndrome, or IBS, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

